The Pain

Lately I haven’t been good when it comes to my diet. I have had a thousand things going on and have been eating a lot of crud. My diet is more important than just weight control or whatnot. I have to eat well or I get sick. And right now I am feeling the effects of my badness. My body hurts. Bad.

When I eat gluten it causes inflammation in my body. That inflammation makes me feel like someone took a ball bat and hammered away at all my joints. Particularly bad are my wrists and hands which isn’t good since I have to use them all day at school. I found it difficult today to try to do a blow out. I couldn’t twist the brush.

I remember the first time I described this I said I felt like I was being crucified. At times my hands just curl into themselves. I had forgotten how bad it hurts and I am thankful that normally it is not something I have to worry too much about anymore.

It is a constellation of pain going from my face to my neck to my shoulders, elbows, wrists, thumbs, hands, spine, lower back, rib cage, pelvis, hip joints, knees, shins, ankles – even my toes. It is hard to describe to someone who has never experienced it but it is like you worked out the hardest you ever have and it is the day after.

Something a lot of us need to remember is that we are what we eat. I know it costs money to eat gluten free, organic or healthier in whatever form, but for people with chronic health problems please try it. If you do it for only two weeks you may be amazed at what you find out. The one thing is that you will start feeling better within just a couple of days. Frankly it is amazing. You may find out that your magic pill is just what you put on your plate.

Personally, I have to start behaving better. I have gotten slack and am now paying the price. I am heavier than I ever have been in my life. I know is mainly because I have a non existent metabolism due to a dead thyroid, but still I need to get that under control. I know I will probably never be thin but I don’t want to be fat either.

I am nearly 100 pounds heavier than I was 15 years ago. That is hard for me to stomach because to be honest I was always pretty vain even though I wasn’t very confident. Ironically now that I am chubby I am more confident but not vain. I suppose that may just be maturity. It takes a lot to stress me out anymore. Perhaps that is because I have been to hell and back. When you look the reaper in the face it is hard to get stressed over much.

So I am going to try to go back to sleep tonight since I have taken one of my prescription inflammation pills and tomorrow I will sit down and come up with a healthy food plan for the next week. I may even ask my Mom to help me. She has lost I think about 50 pounds in the last year or so. I know she can give some advice. One of the problems I will have is that I can’t really partake of  Fat-Free or Low Fat items because they include additives that make me sick. So I have some thinking to do.

However it is time to get this party started. If I can be even just 30 pounds lighter by the end of the year I will be A LITTLE satisfied. Just to see the numbers on the scale go down instead of up would probably send me into doing a dance around the house : )

Much love and remember to treat yourself well!!!!

Leave a Reply

